10th ANNUAL SYMPOSIUM ON APPLIED COMPUTING (SAC '95)
FEBRUARY 26-28, 1995
Opryland Hotel Nashville, Tennessee

AT THE BEGINNING OF1995 ACM COMPUTING WEEK!

CALL FOR PAPERS AND PARTICIPATION

SYMPOSIUM THEME
Business and Government Applications

--Sponsoring ACM Special Interest Groupsó

ACM-TOP: Hal Berghel, Univ. of Arkansas,hlb@acm.org
SIGAPP: George Hedrick, Oklahoma State Univ.,ghedrick@acm.org
SIGAda: Steve Grimaldi, UHD,steveg@uhd2.uhd.com
SIGCUE: Jim Hightower, CSU-Fullerton,hightower@acm.org
SIGFORTH: Irving Montanez, Brookhaven National Laboratory,montanez@bnl.gov
SIGBIO: Roy Rada, Univ. of Liverpool,r.rada@compsci.liverpool.ac.uk
SIGICE: Hossein Saiedian, Univ. of Nebraska-Omaha,hossein@unocss.unomaha.edu

SPECIAL TRACKS

Scientific Computing/Mahir Ali, Univ. North Dakota,ali@aero.nodak.edu
Software Prototyping/Hal Berghel, Univ. of Arkansas,hlb@acm.org
Programming Languages/Barrett Bryant, U. Alabama-Birmingham,bryant@cis.uab.edu
Fuzzy Applications/Madjid Fathi, Univ. Dortmund,fathi@ls1.informatik.uni-dortmund.de
Biomedical Computing/Ed Lamie, CSU-Stanislaus,lamie@altair.csustan.edu
Computer Uses in Education/Jim Hightower, CSU-Fullerton,hightower@acm.org
FORTH/Jack Woehr,jax@well.sf.ca.us
Parallel and Distributed Algorithms/Gary Lamont, Air Force Inst. Tech.,lamont@afit.af.mil
Small Computing Systems/Larry Przybylski, Ill. Inst. Tech.,przylaw@karl.iit.edu
Genetic Algorithms/Roger Wainwright, Univ. Tulsa,rogerw@tusun2.mcs.utulsa.edu
Computational Logic and Logic Programming/Ralph Wilkerson, Univ. Missouri-Rolla,ralphw@cs.umr.edu
Artificial Intelligence/Robert Inder, HCRC, 2, Buccleuch Place, EdinburghEH8 9LW Scotland, robert@cogsci.edinburgh.ac.uk


SYMPOSIUM CHAIR

Jim Hightower†††††††††††††††††††††††††††
California State University-Fullerton†††
Mgmt. Science/Information Systems Dept.
Fullerton, CA 92634-9480††††††††††††††††
hightower@acm.org


PROGRAM CHAIR

Ed Deaton
Hope College
Department of Computer Science
Holland, MI 49422-9000
deaton@acm.org


Direct general inquiries to the conference chair or the program chair:

Send submissions and proposals for panels and workshops to the program chair or to the appropriate track chair by September 1, 1994

Detailed information on each track and mailing addresses of all Track Chairs and SIG representatives are available from the program chair or by anonymous ftp from acm.org in the directory: ANONYMOUS.SIG_FORUMS.SIGAPP

For more information on any of the sponsoring ACM SIGs, contact

Hal Berghel
University of Arkansas
Computer Science Department
Fayetteville, AR 72701
hlb@acm.org

SAC is the annual conference of the ACM Special Interest Group on Applied Computing (SIGAPP).For the past nine years, SACs have become a primary forum for applied computing practitioners and researchers.SAC will bring together applied computer scientists from related ACM Special Interest Groups SIGs): SIGAPP, SIGAda, SIGBIO, SIGCUE, SIGFORTH, and SIGICE.

Paper submissions and panel and workshop proposals which deal with the symposium themes are encouraged. The special tracks are a primary focus of the symposium. Papers relating to specific special interest groups or specific tracks may be mailed directly to the track chair, or they will be forwarded by the Program Chair.

Papers which deal with other areas of applied computing are solicited. In addition, papers describing applications in database design and applications, biomolecular computing, image processing. geographic information systems, cognitive science, biology, chemistry, physics, geosciences, electronic libraries, and office automation are solicited. Papers describing the use of Ada in all symposium areas are especially solicited this year.Papers that do not fit a specific track should be mailed to the Program Chair.

Look for additional information in SIG newsletters or contact the track chairs.

SAC '95 will begin on Sunday, February 26, 1995, with pre-conference tutorials. Paper presentations, panels and workshops will begin on Monday, February 27.

PAPERS

Original papers dealing with any aspect of computing applications will be considered for presentation and publication in the SAC '95 Proceedings. This includes three categories of submissions:(1) original and unpublished research, (2) reports of innovative computing applications in the arts, sciences, engineering, business, government, and industry, and (3) reports of successful technology transfer to new problem domains.Each category of submissions will be reviewed by peer groups appropriate to that category. Accepted papers in all categories will be published in the Conference Proceedings.Expanded versions of selected papers from all categories will be considered for publication in the ACM/SIGAPP quarterly Applied Computing Review or one of the other participating SIGs' publications.

Submission guidelines must be strictly followed:

- submit 6 copies of the original manuscript to the Program Chair, or the appropriate Track Chair.
- Author(s) name(s) and address(es) must not appear in the body of the paper,
and self-reference should be in the third person.
- The body of the paper should not exceed 4,000 words (about 15 pages, double spaced).
- A separate cover sheet attached to each copy should show the title, the author(s) name(s) andaffiliation(s), and the address
(including e-mail and fax) to which correspondence should be sent.

PANELS AND WORKSHOPS

Panel proposals are encouraged.Panels and workshops dealing with the state of the art in any aspect of Applied Computing are welcomed.Please send a brief abstract of the topic and the resume/vita of the moderator to the Program Chair.

All submissions must be received by September 1, 1994. Notification of acceptance will be mailed by October 30, 1994. Camera ready copy will be due December 15, 1994.